One section of concern and information to share.
According to the article...
The game’s app permissions require you to give it full access to your location and camera, alongside full access to your Google account, so players sign away their right to object almost immediately upon playing the game
That was true at the onset but is no longer true IF YOU DO THIS...
1. Go to your google account and remove Pokemon Go from having access.
2. Delete the app from your device.
3. Re-install the app and sign back in with your google account.
It will then only have basic permission instead of Full.
Other than that, put your tinfoil hat away and have fun.